Curry Curry Curry!

Stuck for an easy lunch that didn’t require much planning today, I looked around my kitchen and decided to throw together a simple curry. I had picked up a very cheap eggplant (79 cents!) at the produce market that needed to be used asap, and had cans of chickpeas and coconut milk in the pantry. Didn’t feel like making rice (though it would be yummy) so I added potatoes to the curry (5lb bag for $1.99 – so cheap!).

So here’s my rather imprecise but delicious recipe.

Potato and Eggplant Curry

1 medium eggplant, salted, rinsed and diced *see note below

3 or 4 medium sized potatoes (I used russets, but anything would work)

2 carrots, diced

1 onion, chopped

Handful of cherry or grape tomatoes, halved

1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1 can coconut milk

1 T curry powder

2 t cumin

1. Poke some holes in the potatoes and microwave them for 5-10 mins. If you do this first, they’ll be cool enough to chop up by the time you’re finished prepping everything else.

2. Put the curry and cumin in a non-stick skillet over med-high heat and toast for a minute or so. Add the onion and a few tablespoons of water. Saute until soft.

3. Add the eggplant and coconut milk. Put a lid on it and cook until the eggplant is soft, 10-15mins, stirring occasionally.

4. Chop the now-cool potatoes and add them to the pan along with the carrots, tomatoes, and chickpeas. Heat through and adjust seasonings (salt and pepper if you want) to taste.

 

*Note about the eggplant:  Salting the eggplant draws out the bitter juices and makes it cook down into silky deliciousness.  It takes a little extra planning, but is 100% worth the time.  Start by cutting it crosswise into half-inch slices.  Place the slices in a colander in the sink and sprinkle liberally with salt.  Let them sit for about 20 minutes while you chop other veggies or check Facebook or something.  You’ll see the liquid coming out.  Then rinse and drain and chop for this recipe.

3 thoughts on “Curry Curry Curry!

  1. Raymond says:

    I’ll have to remember the salting the eggplant trick the next time I get brave. Eggplant scares me a bit, and I’ve never had much luck with curry. My efforts at curry tofu have been middling at best. Basically any pan-asian/Indian/middle eastern cooking methods/spices are a mystery to me.

    • pennyparsnip says:

      Yeah, eggplant’s one of those things, isn’t it? It’s taken me years to get good at it, and I think salting it is the key. That, and don’t cook it in oil. It acts like a big purple sponge and you end up with food that is greasy and burnt all at once. I recommend broiling it or braising it like I did here. Sometime this summer I’ll pass on my recipe for ratatouille. Almost idiot-proof 🙂

Leave a Reply

