Pineapple Salsa

Remember that pineapple salsa I accidentally stole from my roommate?  It was good, but I thought I could do better.  I read some recipes, then made up my own.  Pretty darn good served on Salsa Burgers.  Use as much and whatever kind of hot pepper you like.  I used a few of my mother’s home-canned pickled hot peppers (we don’t exactly know the variety, but they are hot!)  When I made Mango Salsa a while back, both habaneros and scotch bonnets were suggested.  I’ve tried neither, but you should, and tell me how it is!  And you’ll just have to trust me on the mint.  It really makes it.

Pineapple Salsa

1 can pineapple tidbits or rings, well-drained, juice reserved

1 onion, sliced 1/4″ thick

1/2 a green pepper, sliced 1/4″ thick

1-2 tomatoes, diced

1/2 c frozen corn, thawed

juice of one lime (2-3 Tbls)

1 Tbls apple cider vinegar

1 Tbls fresh mint, finely minced

diced hot pepper, to taste

Slap Ya Mama, to taste

1.  Heat a non-stick skillet over medium-high.  Sear the onion slices on each side for a few minutes until they are nice and brown, but not blackened.  Do the same with the bell pepper, then the pineapple.  If you use tidbits like I did, you will save yourself some chopping, but you’ll have to stir them around a bit more in this step.

2.  When they are cool enough to handle, dice the onion and pepper and pineapple rings.

3.  Mix all ingredients in a big bowl.  Add reserved pineapple juice to taste.  Let it rest over night; taste again and adjust seasonings as desired.

Serve with Salsa Burgers, Black Bean Burgers, or scoop it up with chips!  This delicious dish was photographed, but the person who did so hasn’t uploaded yet.  I’ll update ASAP, but don’t let that stop you from making this!  Happy cooking!

One thought on “Pineapple Salsa

  1. fr1scat says:

    The peppers are what are commonly called “cherry peppers” although they are more the size of ping pong balls! You see them on salad bars sometimes and like most peppers, they range in color from green to red. I assume you can buy them in the grocery store, but I’ve honestly never checked. I pickled them in Bread and Butter Pickle brine so they are a little different than what you might find commercially.

Leave a Reply

