Leftovers

I made much more tomato salad than I could eat this week.  Also, I felt that it was less-than-great after being in the fridge for a few days.  Refrigeration does funny things to good tomatoes!  My mother always told me it was a sin to waste food, so obviously I had to do something with it.  Thus, pasta sauce.  You’re on your own for amounts, but I would guess I had a little less than 2 cups of leftover salad and added about 1/4 cup of sun-dried tomatoes.

Easy Leftover Marinara

Ingredients:

leftover tomato salad, or any tomatoes you have lying around that are getting too soft

garlic, crushed

sun-dried tomatoes, chopped

fresh basil, roughly torn

Salt and pepper to taste

1.  This is easy: combine all ingredients but the basil in a small sauce pan and simmer until most of the liquid has evaporated.  Add the basil and serve over your favorite whole-grain pasta.

Leave a Reply

