Easy Beet Salad

My system is a bit exhausted from eating all those rich, salty Thanksgiving foods.  I woke up this morning craving something fresh, so I figured it was time to make my favorite simple salad.  At least, it’s simple and easy if you have a food processor with a shredding disk.  Those who don’t are going to have to use some serious elbow grease.  I suppose you could finely dice all the ingredients instead of shredding them.  Let me know if you do, and how it turns out!

I used to abhor beets.  In fact, until recently they were practically the only vegetable I refused to eat!  Several years ago, knowing how healthy beets are, I made it my New Year’s resolution to learn to like them.  After roasting them several times and throwing them away because they tasted like dirt, I gave up.  Then this summer, I got stuck with some beets in my fridge (thanks roomie!) and ended up making beet burgers from the recipe in How to Cook Everything Vegetarian. They were so tasty that I continued to make them for weeks, and each time I made them I ended up with some leftover shredded raw beets.  Turned out, beets are really good raw!  They don’t taste like dirt that way!  That’s how I discovered this salad, and I’ve been making it ever since.  Low calorie, high nutrient, and costs very little to make.  Beets pack a serious nutritional punch for very little money.

Ingredients:

1 medium to large beet, peeled and cut into chunks that will fit in the feed tube

2 carrots, trimmed and cut into equal-sized chunks

1 apple, cored and quartered

Juice of one lemon, or a few tablespoons of apple cider vinegar

1/4c sunflower seeds or pepitas, or a combination of the two

Shred the beets, carrots, and apple in a food processor fitted with the shredding disk.  I like to alternate veggies as I shred; does some of the mixing for me.  Toss in a large bowl with lemon juice or vinegar and seeds.  Eat it up!

Makes 4-8 cups of salad, depending on the size of the vegetables.  Keeps for a few days in the fridge.

5 thoughts on “Easy Beet Salad

  1. celestedimilla says:

    I was on a beet kick for awhile last year, but I haven’t made any beet recipes for a long time now. This recipe sounds quite yummy, however; so I’ll have to get some beets. Celeste:)

Leave a Reply

