Millet Breakfast Porridge

Last week I was browsing the bulk bins at the local co-op for something new and exciting to mix up my whole grain routine and I noticed that millet was a good price ($1.49/lb!). That’s considerably less than quinoa, which usually runs about $3.99/lb at its cheapest.  I didn’t know what I would do with it when I brought it home, but life must be going my way because my latest issue of Cook’s Illustrated featured an article titled “Beyond Rice: A Guide to Other Grains.”  There it was, a millet recipe!  I veganized it and doctored it up for my breakfast this morning.  I often make something similar with quinoa, but this is the holiday season.  Who can afford quinoa this time of year?

Milllet Breakfast Porridge

1 cup millet

2 1/2  cups water

1/2 cup soymilk (or other plant milk)

2 Tbls maple syrup or honey

dried fruit of your choice (I used a combo of apricots, cherries, cranberries, and raisins)

cinnamon, cardamom, and any other spices you like (nutmeg, cloves, ginger, etc)

toasted nuts (optional)

1.  Simmer the millet and water until most of the liquid is absorbed (like making rice or other grains), about 20 mins.

2.  Add soymilk, maple syrup, dried fruits, and spices.  Continue to simmer, covered, for 5-10 more minutes, until the millet is creamy.  Add more hot water or milk if it starts getting dry.

3.  Serve topped with toasted nuts and more cinnamon and milk, if desired.

I did a little research while I was writing this: Millet is an excellent source of many nutrients, including folate, niacin, magnesium, thiamin, and many others!  Eat up!  This is also good leftover.  I made this recipe last three or four days.  Just add some more milk to keep it moist, then microwave it.

Leave a Reply

